Attention DatsunMike or any other Datsun guru

newsouth

First of all, I am NOT an experienced mechanic. I am a handy 50 yo man, but rebuilding cars has never been a challenge that I have yet encountered. 

Secondly, I love 620s.  A ‘72 Kermit green 620 was my family’s second car and ultimately my first personal vehicle. 

I have owned several 620s over the past ten years. I’ll find one, buy it because it has it’s unique qualities, and then sell it because another one catches my eye. 

I currently own two KCs. One (‘77) is currently being readied for a complete body/paint refurbishment. I could elaborate on it at length (SR20DE swap, Heidt’s front end, Ford 8” rear end, Lokar shifter, disc brakes, Stewart-Warner gauges, Vintage Air, etc.), but I’ll save that discussion for later. 

My other ‘78 620 KC is a VERY nice original. 

My question: How difficult would it be to transfer the body of my ‘78 to a late model Nissan 4WD? I really want the appearance of a ‘78 620 and the functionality of a modern 4WD truck. 

Your thoughts? Thank you in advance. 

-Keith

• Replies 14
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Top Posters In This Topic

? I don't think I'm a guru. The more you know the more you know you don't know.

The 620 KC will fit the 720 KC or Long Bed frame. I don't know about newer truck. The wheelbase would need to be very close or the frame would need to be shortened/lengthened. The 620 steering column and box is one piece so... probably you would need to replace the 620 column with the donor truck's. You would want the donor truck master, booster and anti lock brakes, connect the electrical and gauge senders. Will the VG33 or whatever, (a 4 cylinder is likely best) engine and all it's associated gear, fit within the narrow confines of the 620's engine bay, or the larger rad? Lots to think about....

• Like 1

Awww, come on Mike. If the shoe fits...

Body swaps are a lot of work to get done right.