Disc Brake Conversion on 71 521

MK4A80

Hello,

So i have a 71 521 truck that i want to covert to disc brakes on front and rear.

I been searching a bit for recommendation on disc brake conversion, all i find is expensive kits.

Anybody out there has info on stock options from newer Nissan trucks. I don't mind going to bigger wheel.

Any help is highly appreciated.

Thank you.

FYI, im new to Datsun/Nissan so please don't flame me.

• Like 1
  • Replies 158
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Top Posters In This Topic

Posted Images

Mklotz makes quality stuff but I believe his upgrade requires different spindles too.... http://www.bluehandsinc.com/

But you can fit under a 14" rim

Beebani is on ebay as Beebani1028 ...

He sells the brackets for 160, and fit under 15" rims..... 

Both require extra parts you need to buy...

Are you increasing the hp at all?

In all honesty you really only need to upgrade the fronts and switch to a dual master and you'll have all the brakes you need..... unless you just dont wanna deal with the rear drums at all.... 

• Like 3

Mike’s kit requires D21 hubs, not spindles. It also requires that one corner of the stock spindles gets cut off.

Beebani’s brackets require D21 4wd calipers and Honda passport rotors. They bolt right on. New front lines need to be made to connect to the calipers.

I agree with Crash. Rear disc is nice, but not needed.

Edited by mainer311
  • Like 2
  • Thanks 1
6 hours ago, mainer311 said:

Mike’s kit requires D21 hubs, not spindles. It also requires that one corner of the stock spindles gets cut off.

Beebani’s brackets require D21 4wd calipers and Honda passport rotors. They bolt right on. New front lines need to be made to connect to the calipers.

I agree with Crash. Rear disc is nice, but not needed.