1984 720 MH tire question

ztome

Hello I recently picked up a 1984 720 motorhome. The dually's are dry rotted and am trying to figure out what tire options I have. The size on there currently is 27x8.50r14. Can I go smaller? I'm new to this so I have no clue , but it seems the clearance between the tire and wood is so close. Is this normal?

Would something like this fit? https://www.walmart.com/ip/TRAILER-KING-ST-2-ST215-75R14-LRC/143333506

Thanks

• Like 1
  • Replies 29
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Top Posters In This Topic

26 minutes ago, weldingrod said:

Could be springs are tired and need to be re-arced. A cheaper method would be to add a couple more leaves.

Have a set of dually rims here if you need spares.

Thanks. It only has 50k, but maybe the age has gotten to them. I was thinking maybe smaller tires would help a bit too? 

• Like 1

E78 14 is what's called for. That's 205/70 R 14 or just over 8" wide X 25.3 tall. This is from the '84 Nissan FSM

27" tall is way too much and the 215/75 R 14 isn't much better at 8.45" wide and just under 27" tall. Both are over 2.5" taller than what's called for. You speedometer must be way out.

• Like 2
3 hours ago, datzenmike said:

E78 14 is what's called for. That's 205/70 R 14 or just over 8" wide X 25.3 tall. This is from the '84 Nissan FSM

27" tall is way too much and the 215/75 R 14 isn't much better at 8.45" wide and just under 27" tall. Both are over 2.5" taller than what's called for. You speedometer must be way out.

Thank you for that info. No wonder there's no room under there lol. Do you think these would work? https://www.walmart.com/ip/Freestar-M-108-Radial-Trailer-Tire-ST205-75R14-C-6-Ply/55346788

Or 

https://www.walmart.com/ip/Set-of-2-New-Heavy-Duty-Trailer-Tires-ST-205-75R14-8PR/199425824

https://www.ebay.com/itm/2-New-Trailer-Tires-ST205-75D14-2057514-205-75-14-F78-14-VR383-Bias-6PR-/142049856452