Knock or rattle, either way not good please help me

ssprague

I've been driving my 85 720 2wd for a couple years, keeping the oil changed and it's been running good.  Bought it with 67000 on it and its at 94000 now.  Alternator went out a few weeks ago and I replaced it, then back to running good.  Last week I parked it at work, and on the drive home I noticed whenever I accelerated, especially lugging at all or going up hills, it knocked (not sure if that's the correct term).  It does it in all gears, more in the lower end of each gear and mostly goes away toward the top end.  It also doesn't do it when idling, or when Im under the hood manually giving it throttle.  I did notice the carrier bearing was shot, so I replaced that hoping it would help but its the same.  I've done some internet digging, but I'm unsure what to do.  I'm going to do some more testing tomorrow, and hopefully post a video but it's hard because it doesn't do it at idle.  Thanks in advance.

Sam

• Like 1
  • Replies 15
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Top Posters In This Topic

The only thing I see that is obvious is the knock is only there under load. Running gear noises also have a tendency to telegraph through the system and sound as if they were someplace else. Not much help, I know, but maybe (hopefully?) somewhere other than the engine.

• Like 1

Can you still not see the video?  You have to click the link, it should work.  It does it in all gears, even reverse.  A lot of the bushings underneath need to be replaced, could that really be what it is?  I hope so.  I will do that Wayno but I haven't heard this noise before, it just started doing it coming home from work.  Thank you all for your help.  Heading to my buddies house hopefully get it figured out before work tomorrow.

Sam

• Like 1