New to Ratsun/Datsun. Need 620 buying advice.

JohnnyBlaze

I've been a fan of Datsun since I was a kid and always wanted one.  I decided I needed a small pickup for a back up vehicle, to haul stuff, and a toy to have some fun.  I bought a 1997 Nissan Hardbody and planned to use that, but I decided I finally wanted to get a Datsun.  I'm selling the hardbody to my dad and I've been searching for a 620.  The East coast doesn't offer many options close to me. 

My question is should I avoid a potential major project?  I am fairly mechanically inclined and typically do most work myself.  I have no experience with a carbureted vehicle, do not weld, and have never rebuilt an engine.  That being said, I'm going to look at a 1977 620 that has been sitting for 7 years, but "ran when parked" and is complete.  The price is unknown as they told me to "make an offer".  I said I will come look at it and discuss price then.  Based on the pics there is definitely rust and I know that can be typical.  They say the "frame looks solid, bed is rough, and the cab is salvageable with work".  I don't plan it to be a show truck and don't care if it is on the ratty side, but I eventually want it to run, stop, and drive well.  I've done research and have an idea of what areas to look for rot.  I don't want to get a money pit because I could drive further and buy a running truck for a couple thousand dollars.  Thanks for any advice.  I would include 2 pictures, but I'm not sure how to add them.

• Like 1
  • Replies 8
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Top Posters In This Topic

If it 'ran when parked' why was it parked?

I would look farther afield like the left coast where rain washes off any salt that may be used on the roads. 

Find the most complete truck you can find for the money that you can spend, rather that spend 3X as much fixing and finding the rare parts on the wrong coast..

Find one that drives and drive it home or have it shipped.