Need info on a 510 Stahl Header

I'm a newbie to this forum. I have a Stahl header with the part number 596-174. Since Stahl is out of business I can't seem to find anything on the web about this part. I need to know if it will fit my 510 with an L18 engine. I'm thinking it's for an L20B which is 1" taller. Any help will be greatly appreciated.

• Replies 14
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Top Posters In This Topic

I think ProFab in Aurora Oregon, (503) 678-2948 or  Stahl Headers by ACP, (717) 232-2800. (Greg) They may have bought all the dies and equipment. You could try there but I don't know what they know about old 510 headers.

The L20B is 2cm or 3/4" taller. I would stick with the stock cast iron header.

• Like 1

The Stahl header was a good header back in the day. Having been a racer myself, I would be wary of using a header built for an L20B on an L16 or L18 in a race car. You're already going to be so low to the ground that bottoming out is going to be a problem.

You could always modify the header by bringing the collector up closer to the floor.

2 hours ago, Stoffregen Motorsports said:

The Stahl header was a good header back in the day. Having been a racer myself, I would be wary of using a header built for an L20B on an L16 or L18 in a race car. You're already going to be so low to the ground that bottoming out is going to be a problem.

You could always modify the header by bringing the collector up closer to the floor.

I agree, that's the reason I was trying to find out if this header will work on my L18. I raced MG Midgets for years and we couldn't buy the correct headers, so we would cut out about an inch of the down tubes. Can't do that with this header though.