A14 Nissan 1.4

blazer81.6

Hello guys. Hope all is doing well. If someone could help me out, I would greatly appreciate it. I have an A14 1.4 Nissan Datsun. It is currently in an old Ford skid steer. It hasn’t ran right since I had it. It get hot and dies. Seems like it’s out of time. 

This evening I took it down to the timing chains and noticed the shiny links weren’t lining up with the dots.  When I spun the crank on around, the dots do line up. The chains seemed lose, and there was a shiny place on the crank cover.  

With the shiny links not matching the holes, but the dots matching, do you believe it’s out of time? Sorry, I’m a novice at best.

I took.some pictures on my phone but can’t figure how to upload to post.?

• Replies 23
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Top Posters In This Topic

Ignition timing is set by adjusting the distributor. Cam timing, by adjusting the cam sprocket.

The line up of dots and links are for assembly so the cam is properly timed to the crank. As soon as you turn the engine it comes around in a random place. If you turn enough times you will bring it back into register. Above the crank sprocket you'll find a spring chain tensioner with a plastic 'shoe' pushing against the inside of the chain. Because the engine pulls down on the left or driver's side it will be tight when running. The 'loose' or slack side is the right or passenger side where the tensioner is. Do not remove anything unless you place the engine at top dead center. (TDC) This is so you know where you started from and can find your way back.