The 720 4x4 from Hell

TotalPleb

I recently made a reallllllllllllllly rushed decision to buy a high mileage, nearly rust free, not totally daily ready '85 720 4x4 with the carbed z24. Did I also mention that I have no knowledge of manual transmissions as far as operating them.....?

So, before my family rips my head off and shoves my shame down my throat..... I need some help.

It runs pretty poorly. I can tell the timing is off, the aftermarket carb doesn't have the electronic bits hooked up and runs rich, OMG the stuttering and backfiring are atrocious, and I'm pretty sure I wired the ignition wrong (although it ran better than when I bought it, so¯\_(ツ)_/¯).
36087378_1676242002424477_33406851512050
I have a week-long layoff, so I have time to get it daily ready. I'm really in need of some wiring help, I might be a tooth off on timing, and I probably just need to do a crash course style carb clean on the extra stock carb that came with the truck.

I just bought my sorta dream truck, and I really don't want to have to post it up online as parts because I don goofed. Please help!

• Replies 30
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Top Posters In This Topic

There's no reason to suspect the timing is off a tooth unless the drive spindle has been removed and put in wrong. The distributor can't be put back in in the wrong position. Get a timing light and do it right.

Check the firing order. There are 4 intake alternating with 4 exhaust plug wires on the cap. Very easy to get two out of place.

EA8cSKh.jpg

Check and set the valve lash on a HOT engine. 0.012" on all valves.

Need more info. Why would you need to wire the ignition? Why would it be apart?

You probably have a Weber 32/36 carb on it. If you have the stock carb that would be the best for it. Get it running and then swap the carb to the Weber.

As always, pictures really help, so post all you like.

• Like 2