California approved engine swaps.

1979_datsun_620

I've ready several posts but have never seen one of an approved engine swap in the state of California. I recently purchased a 1979 Datsun 620, the L20B engine needs work and I'd rather just do a swap. At first I wanted to swap it with an SR20DET but I've learned that the refs won't approve it. I have now considered dropping the KA24DE into my truck. I guess my question is, has anyone ever gone through the process? And if so which engine is the best to use? I have some $$ that I know I will spending but also would get the labor don't for really cheap. My ideal goal is performance and reliability. Please help! IM A SUPER NEWB!!

• Replies 92
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Top Posters In This Topic

As I understand it you will need to do a complete swap including all emissions equipment and you will end up smogging for whichever year of motor you swap in. There are a few hoops to jump through but it can be done. 

I'm sure some local guys will be along shortly with more info. 

• Like 1

I do a lot of engine swaps here at my business and the one piece of advice I can give is to buy a whole donor vehicle. The ref will want to see all of the emissions equipment and sourcing all those bits and pieces individually from the dealer, or wrecking yard, or whatever, will take a long time and cost a lot more than just buying a complete donor.

Plus there's the added benefit of seeing the vehicle complete so you know where things are located and how they connect.

On fuel and EVAP systems, it is a lot simpler to use the parts from a donor tank and fit them onto the tank you will be using.

Also, most refs won't allow smog legal aftermarket parts like cold air intakes and even legal headers so use all original parts. They also like to see clean work as that's an indicator of your ability to do thorough work.

Here's an example of a fuel tank mod. This one is for a 3RZ swap into a 1983 Toyota pickup.