1981 datsun 210 wagon wont start

clcla4

I parked the vehicle running,  came back a couple days later since I dont drive it everyday.  It was fairly chilly that day I primed it cranked it a couple of times it wouldnt start, I assumed I flooded it. I took my other car that day, came back a couple days later to start it I get nothing wouldnt turn over,  I had just bought a new battery a month ago and figured it couldnt be that had it checked out anyway it was good, I started by changing the ignition switch because the old one was janky anyway, then I had the alternator rebuilt and changed out all the old battery leads because they were crappy.  Car cranks and when hit with starter fluid will almost start and run for a sec.  I am not a mechanic but I figured maybe I disconnected something or it may be a fuel issue.  Any suggestions would be helpful.   Thanks for the help

• Replies 25
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Top Posters In This Topic

You need spark and fuel to run. As it almost starts, we'll leave spark for now and look at fuel.

Take air filter top off and hold the choke butterfly open so you can look down into the carb. Pump the throttle several times. What you should see is a strong squirt of fuel from the accelerator pump. If none, the carb is empty and you may have a fuel delivery problem.

Yes... engine should start if there is good ignition spark. Take plugs out and dry them. Hold choke plate open while starting.

No..... Tank empty? Fuel filter plugged?

Fuel pump not working?

GAS is very flammable, be very careful with it and don't do this indoors.

Pull the hose off the fuel pump that goes towards the carburetor. Direct into a suitable container to collect any. Pull the coil lead off so the engine does not start. Have someone turn the engine over once or twice. What you should see is strong surges of fuel pushed out into the container.