Help a noob follow a dream

GMT400

Hey all, new user here. I'm also completely new to the world of mini trucks, lowered trucks, and Datsuns. I really want a lowered 620 incredibly bad and I'm trying to learn as much as I can about them, but there's one issue I haven't seen addressed (maybe because it isn't an issue or I'm just an idiot or something lol). That "issue" is tires rubbing on trucks with a certain stance. I'm a lifted truck guy and that's my background, and tires rubbing can be a huge issue there. I really want a truck with a stance similar to the one in the picture (no tuck, wider stance, tight fitment), and I'd really like to know if tires rub in such a set up. I'd also like to know some things to know and things to consider in such a build if you folks would be so kind. Thanks in advance.
I couldn't post an image for some reason so here's a link to a picture of Radim's pickup: http://i275.photobucket.com/albums/jj313/Radim69/shoot3.jpg~original

• Replies 34
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Top Posters In This Topic

You need the tires to fit inside the fender wells. If not you will rub or bump down on them, I've seen tires with grooves all the way round from rubbing or the side wall all chewed up and it's not good for the body either. Two things that determine if a tire will fit properly is the tire/rim width and the rim offset or back spacing. Back spacing or offset is the relationship between the center of the rim width to the wheel mounting surface.

Same rim and tire width but big difference where the tire is in relation to the edge of the fender. If your tire will rub you need to move it inwards towards the center of the vehicle or Positive Offset. Best to figure this out before buying the rims and tires.

wheeloffset_2.gif

Too much positive offset risks rubbing the inner fender steering or suspension components. The wheel simply mounts too far in.