1983 720 KA24DE Swap

Datsun boi 720

Hello, I am fairly new to Ratsun Forums and since I am doing a KA swap in my 1983 Datsun 720 I figured I would post on here so I can inform people on how it goes and also take feedback from others on what to do. To start off this engine came out of a s14 240sx. The engine was sitting in my friends garage, mainly intact. It was a free engine so I decided to get it up on an engine stand and start tearing it down to hopefully then put it in my 720. Here is my truck as it sits right now with a Z22.

http://20160925_155814_zps0qcqg717.jpg

Snapchat-6001795661979081099_zpspa7ubqnc

Now here is the engine and the beginning of the tear down. The head has been redone in the past year. 

20170204_171607_zpsimf0nkv1.jpg
20170204_171615_zpst3emrkfe.jpg
20170204_191937_zpskmeijg8z.jpg
20170206_205718_zpslrxksn1x.jpg
20170206_211902_zpsnxwimhpw.jpg
20170206_211921_zpsyibduk4k.jpg

Got a new stage 2 Exedy clutch and pressure plate yesterday.

40e92f11-95be-4962-969a-6abcee8e9077_zps
  • Like 1
  • Replies 24
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Top Posters In This Topic

20170204_191937_zpskmeijg8z.jpg

Dat oil Doh.

Looks like a lot of water in that oil, probably blown head gasket. Front cylinder looks a little rusty. Check the head isn't warped. This is probably why your friend took it out and you got it for free. The KA will bolt right up to your 5 speed but you will need to modify the oil pan and oil pick up tube.

• Like 1

He took the engine out because the guys that bought it wanted to ls swap it. He got the car for free because the guy didn't know what was wrong. The head gasket was blown at one point so he rebuilt the head and didn't have time to get everything going on it before he sold it. I am going to check everything before I start pouring money into it. My truck is a 4 speed and I don't want a 4 speed anymore so I'm gonna try to find a hard body 5 speed and the oil pan off a d21.

• Like 2