turbo oil drain leaking any idea's ?

Anyone of you guys ever had the oil drain leaking at the turbo. I dunno what the hell is going on! ! have tried everything! its just a standard T3 turbo every gasket I've tried leaks. currentley i am using a copper gasket with high temp silicon and it still freaking leaks. I even went as far as taking my flange to work and having the machine shop surface grind it to assure its perfectly flat. still leaking how much damn pressure is coming outta this thing!

• Replies 26
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Top Posters In This Topic

The drain tube is just a tube for the oil to fall down into the sump. If it was blocked, oil pressure would build up on the drain side of the bearing where is shouldn't. Turbo's are infamous for coking oil from the heat. Maybe you have blockage?

News to me.....

I've been importing Japanese turbos for going on 16 years now, and never once had to use a restricter on any of them.

GReddy, HKS, and the big Toyota race series (CT3x size). And I've installed just about every other brand.

I'll continue to use non-restricted oil feed line an any non-BB turbo.

The only time someone runs into problems is when they have too small of outlet, and create enough pressure inside the turbo to push oil out past the shaft seals.

If people are resticting oil in to cover up poorly designed oil drains, they are being silly.....

If they are resticting oil flow because their stock pump isn't up to the job, and they have low pressure due to the oil going to their turbo, they are also being silly.

Right now I am working on a new oil pump overdrive kit to cure such a problem on the MkIII Supras.

People are getting tired of stupid low pressure on these engines.

IMG_0186.jpg