L20b rebuild, coolant leaking out the head

DatsSully

Okay so I've been putting this car together slowly for the past 3 years where the car fought me every step of the way with stupid little shit that kept holding me back but I finally get it to the point where I can fire it up. I fill her up with oil, then I go to fill the radiator up with water so i don't ruin anything on startup(If it starts at all). Sure enough f'ing Murphy's law'd once again, as I fill it up with water I hear this trickling noise so I look up and there's water leaking out the coolant passages from under the head out onto the side of the block(Sorry no pics or video, I immediately took the head off to check it out). 

I just "rebuilt" this engine before swapping it in, I had replaced the timing chain, head gasket and swapped a few parts I knew were working off my old engine onto it. The head bolts were on there nice and snug(I broke a craftsman ratchet trying loosen them before I switched to a breaker bar haha). I thought it might be that I didn't put these 6 or 8 dowels that were in the l18 but they were too small to fit in the passages and it didn't look like they were supposed to have dowels int those ports. I also checked and and cleaned the surfaces and nothing seemed warped or damaged. I did notice that the coolant holes in the head are slightly smaller than the ones in the block so maybe that's the issue.

I couldn't find any issues similar to this in searching, maybe someone knows something that could help me, I'm going to put the head back on soon and hope it works if not.

• Replies 30
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Top Posters In This Topic

Not enough info.

as i fill it up with water I hear this trickling noise so I look up and there's water leaking out the coolant passages from under the head out onto the side of the block(Sorry no pics or video, I immediately took the head off to check it out).