Can I take on the project I want?

As the title probably suggests, I have limited knowledge when it comes to project cars. What I'm wanting to do is turn a sub 2000 dollar car into something nice with a 5000 dollar budget (including buying of tools) with the next 5 months to do it.

I have a garage, ramps, jackstands, limited tools, and the knowledge level of oil changes and knowing what parts are what. I've installed exhaust, intake systems, shocks and minor maintenance things like replacing my oil pressure sensor on my C5 Vette. I've also helped my dad with his hummer project with things like sanding, welding, slotting, bracketing, etc.

Is a project like this feasible with the help of forums lime these? Over these 5 months I'll have all day every day minus an hour or two in the mornings. Not looking for a show car winner, just something that is fun and drivable for now.

Also toying with selling my Yamaha FZ07 to get an extra 5k but only if necessary. The vette stays with me :P

Also, what's the best place to look for a car to start with? Craigslist?

Looking for a 510, 240, 260 280.  Not so much a wagon 510, but I would keep it in mind.

• Replies 20
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Top Posters In This Topic

So you have no idea what car you want to 'fix up'?????? You are on a Datsun forum so I assume an old Datsun or Nissan???? With '99Vette', I'm guessing you have never dealt with Japanese cars before, but now they seem trendy and want one?

Five months deadline? is this a race???  Forget doing a $2000 roller into a $7000 finished project... with your lack of skills and knowledge.... it ain't happening. Even if the vehicle was free you could easily spend $10,000 just finding the correct parts, paint can be $4,000 it's insane.