Recommended engine tuning for the J13?

timmy

Hey there,

I'm a bit new to this party and apologies if this has been discussed before, but I'm wondering what would be the best tuning options to give my little truck a bit more power and better sound. I see that some folk are fitting MGB manifolds and sidedraft Webers to their engines but I'm wondering whether it's worth it over the stock Nikki.... Any suggestions?

Also, what is the suggested exhaust size for this engine? Would 2" be about right?

Cheers,

Tim

• Like 2
  • Replies 4
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Top Posters In This Topic

Two inch would be way too big. What ever is on there now and add 1/8" or just leave. Get a lower restriction 'turbo' style muffler but not one of those straight through things. This will give you a better sound.

If you go with a side draft(s) you really would need a better cam to make use of it.

A small displacement engine can make more power but it has to rev up to do so and there's little change in the range where you drive it 99% of the time. For this a larger displacement does the trick. Larger displacement makes more torque at lower speeds. Any chance of finding an L20B and transmission?

• Like 1

If your looking for a better sound i saw a guy ( on the internet ) use a MGB exhaust manifold which has 2 outlets in it,,, If ran separately you could probably get a very unique (badass)  exhaust note.

Here is his blog on car domain ,, you have to click the goofy orange "more" words to see anything which kinda sucks

http://www.cardomain.com/ride/534452/1966-datsun-410/

Clickity- clickity ^^^