Machining wheels to change offset

I'm a newbie to the Ratsun community, and I hoping to tape into the tremendous amount of expertise.

I recently purchased a 1974 Datsun 260z and my first priority is to make sure the car goes where I point it and STOPS! So I'm upgrading to big disc brakes all around, adjustable Coilovers, bigger swaybars and polyurethane bushings. The big disc brakes have also meant that I need bigger rim. I don't want to add flares, but I have rolled the fender lips so I can put as much rubber as possible on the ground. Based on everything I've read and 8.5" wide rim was the biggest that would fit without flares. So I ordered a Rota RB's (17x8.5 with a +4mm offset). With all that said as background, here is my questions:

1) Obviously Rota has machined the rims down to a +4mm offset, how much more material can be machined off the 8.5" rims? Can I go to a Zero offset? -5mm -10mm? -15mm?

2) Other than than being mindful of the structural integrity of the rim are there any suspension or setup issues I need to be aware of?

• Replies 18
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Top Posters In This Topic

Positive off set moves the rim inward away from the fender. Zero -5mm -10mm and -15mm moves it out into the fender. I assume you want positive off set so you don't need flares.

I would never feel safe milling the center of a mag rim to get the off set right. Order them in the correct off set.

• Like 2

You are right I meant that I want to move the wheels in towards the strut to get the wheels is the fender well without flares. So I'd like,to increase the offset in the "positive" direction. Thanks for sharing the "Obligatory Datsun Photo"!

The basis of my question really comes down to the fundemantal question: If a wheel manufacturer offers multiple offsets for the same wheel, (+4mm, +10mm, +15mm....etc) where does the material come from to provide the different offsets?

As I look at it there are only a couple of options: