My first Nissan build - My grandpas 1983 720 Pickup

Hello all!

I'm Robert and I am new to Ratsun.  I recently aquired my grandfathers 1983.5 720 standard cab.  The truck has been in the family since mile 0 and I've been eying it for a while now!  I'm so excited to tear into this awesome little truck and bring some life back to her!  It has the Z24 engine with a nasty wrist-pin knock.  I'm wanting to upgrade/update the engine to the KA24 out of a 240 or a Frontier but am still a little unsure.  I may just rebuild the engine and call it good.  Anywhoo, I have my first post here -->  http://shuttermeshort.blogspot.com/2014/08/grand-pas-truck-day-1.html  with even more info and photos. 

I hope you all like it and i'm hoping to learn a lot from this community! (already have!)

Robb

IMG_6258.jpgIMG_6308.jpg

• Like 2
  • Replies 38
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Top Posters In This Topic

Posted Images

Use the truck KA, it's lighter and the oil pan fits. The 240 engines are front sump and the crank girdle prevents a truck oil pan from fitting.

Any engine sounds could be a misdiagnosis. How many miles are on the 'old girl'? Maybe check set the valve lash (0.013")

• 1 year later...

So the truck is up and running!  I'm still hashing out some small details and tightening up loose ends but she purrrrs!  I ended up rebuilding the Z24 instead of swapping.  It turned out to be a bad crank journal.  Here's my day 2 & 3 post.   http://shuttermeshort.blogspot.com/2016/01/grandpas-truck-day-2-and-3-engine.html 

Enjoy!  Feedback is always welcome!

• 4 years later...