69 521 Build

earlyvws

Quick introduction. I have been building early aircooled vws for many years. This is the first non-vw I have ever attempted. In fact I know nothing about these. I was looking for a small truck to haul around parts to and from powder-coat buying metal etc to keep working on my vws. Well a buddy of mine got this truck and gave it to me for free.

IMG_0172.jpg

IMG_0171.jpg

IMG_0170.jpg

IMG_0169.jpg

So I started taking apart.

IMG_0193.jpg

IMG_0190.jpg

So after messing with this one I bought this one for a good price to get more parts and this one has a L20B and 5 speed.

IMG_0203.jpg

IMG_0202.jpg

IMG_0201.jpg

Fabbed up some pieces to finish off the bed.

IMG_0211.jpg

IMG_0212.jpg

Blasted and had all the body powder coated primer

IMG_0257.jpg

IMG_0255.jpg

IMG_0253.jpg

IMG_0252.jpg

Bought some BBS rims on craigslist.. They were painted a gross black so started stripping them

IMG_0239.jpg

IMG_0258.jpg

So I got all the front control arms and misc pieces from a D21 from pick an pull. I was planning on shortening them to get the stock width on the frontr end, but since I got these rims with a offset that will not be good, I am now thinking of trying to use them as is no mods. I think I may need the extra 1" the D21 will provide. I got a 89 toyota front hub as well and machining down the snout to fit in the rim.

So I basically turned this into a big project, but I hope to finish it rather fast. At this point I am going to have a lot of questions because this is all new to me.

Joe

• Like 5
  • Replies 628
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Top Posters In This Topic

Looks like you are making great progress.  Nice job on salvaging the fenders.

Was the first truck engine less?  It may have had a J-13 pushrod engine, clues for that would be the ignition coil mounted on the cowl.  L-16 engine 521 trucks put the ignition coil on the left inner fender, above the horns.