Anybody like the Z24?

gryffinwings

• Replies 29
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Top Posters In This Topic

I agree as well, very strong bottom ends in these engines and the power is right where it's needed for a small 4x4 truck where it would be pointless to try to rev to 6k rpms just to get any power out of it. It's peak torque also sits right at highway speeds which is really nice.

These engines weren't built for performance, but they can definitely withstand some serious power if one decides to do a head swap or add a turbo etc..

• Like 1

If I read this correctly, This z24 ran a 14.87 where I live. I like the z24 because you don't need to do much to make it reliable and dependable. And if you want a little more horsepower get a Weber 32/36 or a 38/38 but if you want more, you'd go with a dual side draft setup which is about all it'll take seeing as a turbo setup blows the head gaskets. 

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JUv9tt0x-78

• Like 2

I'm new to this forum but not new to the datsun/nissan game. I have to say the Z24 is by far underestimated. I've personally built my Z24 for "racing", I drift my 720 on the daily, not professional but just love doing it, and while out driving I tend to hurt peoples feeling when the can't keep up with the single cammer. Not trying to boast but the topic was on the Z24 and I think its a beast.

• Like 2

In my opinion these are one of the best built engines, especially of its time! I still have the original z24 in my 720, no major issues what so ever! Practically bullet proof! I've ran this thing into the ground and it still start first crank and has lots of power! So yes this is probably the toughest little 4 cylinder ever built!

• Like 1