1972 620

dottiethe620

• Replies 22
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Top Posters In This Topic

ok, heres your freebie 

1. please post a pic of your datsun so we can give you answers to your questions or your just gunna get pointless responses

2. maybe say hello! introduce yourself

3. datsuns are easy, you can work on them.

so....... try again? 

• Like 2

Hey guys so I'm new to the datsun scene and I just got a 620 last week. The entire engine is a bone stock l16. I've been tweaking around with the carb and have been thinking of putting a 32/36 weber in for the time being. Can anyone recommend any shops in the Bay Area that does good work on datsuns and also give me some ideas as I restore it? I will post pics later today.

Two identical post in the 620 section in 15 min???? (sigh) Introduce yourself, post some pictures of your 620 and tell us why you like it and what your plans are for it and I'll let this slide.

I merged the two posts.

Yeah sorry. Like I said new to this. And my plan is to keep the l16 engine and bore it out to a higher displacement. That's why I'm looking for a shop in the bay. I want to lower to 4-5 inches and was thinking of a 5 lug conversion so I can put panasports on later. Also thinking later after engine is mostly tuned that I'd go to dual sidedrafts. Either mikuni or weber.

You can get 1mm oversize L16 pistons making a 1632cc motor. This is 2% larger so maybe 70 hp X 0.02 = 1.4 extra horse power. Hmmm a lot of expense for that....

If boring an L16 you will need larger pistons so.... if re-building an L series motor why not start with a larger L series motor to begin with? Find an old L20B and for the same cost, re-build it stock. You will instantly have 20 more hp, something that the L16 with side drafts would never do. That's under 70 RWHP to over 90 RWHP and torque that will push you in the seat.