Noob needs input

Hello all, total noob here.

A co-worker of mine has a friend who has a 1970 Datsun pickup sitting in his yard. It's been there for 20+ years and he's finally decided to get rid of it. It's in rough shape, but I think it can be saved. He's planning on giving this truck away for free!

I haven't seen the truck in person yet. Gonna go see it after work today. I have some pics here and was hoping you all can give me some input as to what I'm in for.

Glass appears to be intact; rubber looks decent considering it's age. Supposedly it has a Datsun 1.6L motor out of a 1975 just sitting on the mounts that has never been started. The looks to be a couple cancer spots, one on the roof and one on the back of the cab.

There is no bed. This was used as a work truck back in the day and was converted to a flat bed.

Anyways, the pics I have are located here: http://good-times.webshots.com/album/564690209ZenmGz

Please take a look and give me some input

• Replies 21
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Top Posters In This Topic

ya. I'd say its in bad shape... but not smashed. :) You can drive it eventually.

I would expect that L16 engine can be saved but you'll need a new (or used) carb. Possibly a Weber 32/36.

In 1975 the Datsun truck had a 2.0L L-series. (L20b) so it may be L16 or L20b. You can check that out later.

what are you plans for it? How nice do you want it to be or is it just a junker to drive around?

ya. I'd say its in bad shape... but not smashed. :) You can drive it eventually.

I would expect that L16 engine can be saved but you'll need a new (or used) carb. Possibly a Weber 32/36.

In 1975 the Datsun truck had a 2.0L L-series. (L20b) so it may be L16 or L20b. You can check that out later.

what are you plans for it? How nice do you want it to be or is it just a junker to drive around?

First I want to get it drivable. From there, I'll consider an engine swap and air suspension down the road.