Basic LZ22 Build w/ Flat Top SSS SU

jvb5577

Today I pulled the L20B out of my '79 620.  Did it by myself, which I will not do again!  :rofl:

I am planing on doing a LZ22 or maybe a LZ23 depending on how the cash goes.  Want it to be a street friendly engine with good power.  I have never built a motor before so will have many questions probably.  Anyways what I have is a U95 L20B W2 with a W58 head.  Seems the PO replaced the timing chain as it says "made in USA" it was also a little loose.  Also used water for coolant. :sneaky: Lots of rust.   Took a flashlight to the valves and they are black.  Currently looking for a Z22.  Anyways here are some pictures.  Don't have any on the crazy engine pull.  More to come! B)

Will the W58 head work well with a Z22?

• Like 2
  • Replies 224
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Top Posters In This Topic

Motor looks good. Exhaust liners are clean. The W58 will work fine on a Z22 block. That said...if I had a U67 head and an earlier L16 exhaust manifold I would run those instead along with the intake you already have.  But if you don't then don;t let that stop you using the W58.

So when you find a Z22 you will need everything from the L20B but the steel block and what's in it.

Hard to know if the chain is loose as there is a slack side anyway and the tensioner actually uses oil pressure to push out on the chain. You can check it for stretch though and even adjust it so the cam is timed properly.

My plan was to get a L16 exhaust manifold just so it looks cleaner without all the emissions junk on it.  Will the L16 manifold not work with the W58 head?  Alright will check the chain out a little better. 

How much more power is expected with this bare swap, as in, moving the L20B over to the Z22 block?

MicroMachinery.  Are you happy with the setup you have?