General Question about Driveshafts

cleanone

Hello,

Could someone please help as I am new to the RWD layout.  I just purchased a '72 510 with a Mazda 12A rotary and transmission already installed.  You can see my project datto thread here

http://community.ratsun.net/topic/52955-florida-dime/

When I am driving the car all seems fine while accelerating but as soon as I let off the gas there is all kinds of noise coming from below.  I swear it sounds like the drive shaft is going to fall out.  I stabilized the rear sub frame by flipping the stock bushing washers and that helped a little.  While under the car I noticed some off axis play at the front end of the drive shaft where it slides into the transmission.  When I disconnected the drive shaft from the rear end, I was able to slide it up into the transmission over 1-3/4"!  My question is;

What is the appropriate amount of plunge for a drive shaft?

I.E. when I disconnect it from the rear end should I be able to slide it up into the transmission 1/4"?  1/2"? how much?

I am pretty sure 1-3/4" is too much as there is not enough engagement to prevent the yoke from moving around off axis.

Any help would be appreciated since this is new to me.  

Thanks.

Russell

• Replies 6
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Top Posters In This Topic

Mike,

There is some play in the bearings on the front U-joint. But with the drive shaft attached to the rear end, I can move the whole front U-joint, both parts, up and down about 3/16".  When I disconnected the drive shaft from the rear end and slide it all the way into the transmission, that up and down play goes away.

I suppose it may help to pull the drive shaft and see how long the transmission end of the yoke is.

Am I correct in assuming that when I pull the drive shaft from the transmission the gear oil will leak out?