My '77 Bullet side build up

My Datsun History;

I learned to drive in a '73 620 which is the one on my main pic. I built that one up and only wish I had a completed picture of it because that pic is when I am just getting started. (I guess I lost all other photo's) I have also previously owned a 510 wagon, '76 620 standard cab, '77 and '79 620 King cabs and a '82 720 king cab and did many different additions to them (especially lowering all the trucks).

I currently own a '78 KC and a '77 KC.
This is my '77 KC build up.

I bought this truck from stevensonDNL in late Aug. 2012 and have been working on it when I have time.

Here are pics of how it looked when I bought it. It's beat up and rusty but it's a king cab and that's what I wanted.

1st_zpse6b673b0.jpg

• Replies 50
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Top Posters In This Topic

The first thing I did was remove the interior, clean it up and started on the floor boards. It was a bit rusty under and behind the seats but cancered through in from of the seats on both sides the drivers side really bad.
I scraped off the flakes and washed the floor boards, treated them with Rust Doctor and laminated the front areas with fiberglass. I then painted the whole floor board with black brush on rustoleum paint.

2nd_zpsf34c2401.jpg

Next I removed the vent below the windshield washed, treated the area with Rust doctor and painted the area except for the drivers side hinge. The hinge had rusted up solid and snaped off when the hood was opened. For this area I ground the rust off, cleaned it up, drilled two holes and JB welded it with two new screws into place. It works great and it will hold forever with normal use.

Then treated and painted it as well. (I still have to take care of the hood side of the hinge)

Hinge_zpse4712c56.jpg