STAGE ONE: Engine 101

HOGIE

Hello Ratsun Nation,

As my profile says I am a newbie. I've always had a thing for since my dad let me barrow is little toyota when I was 20. Now I finally got my self a REAL truck, my first Datsun is a 78' 620 king cab. Its rough and need love.

I start now trying to assess what I have. Via the tag inside the drivers side door I know that the body is a 78' but I'm not sure if the this is the correct year motor as the previous owner said that they found this body and swapped motors.

My question is how do you ID a L-series block to tell if it is a L20 vs L-something else? Is there a marker on the block? And one more step please help me and tell me what I have.

Thanks, HOGIE.

• Like 1
  • Replies 35
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Top Posters In This Topic

See that hose coming out of the intake just below the front of the carb? It should be connected to the hose near the thermostat housing.

The intake isn't a '78 as it does not have any EGR valve on it. L16 or L18 intake.

The exhaust looks like a '78 or newer and the EGR tube is plugged. If so it is a round port exhaust used on a W58 L20B head.... well usually.

Has a '79 or '80 distributor on it.

Does not have the L20B fuel rail with return line.

This is a mixture of engine parts.

Look on the top edge of the block where the head meets it just behind the dip stick. The engine size is stamped there. Use wire brush if needed. L16, L18 L20B

Look on bottom edge of head between #1 and #2 spark plugs to identify the head used. Could be 210, A87, U67 or W58

I need to find some clear picture of what the setup should look like. I purchased a Haneys manuel for these models but the diagrams are not very clear.  I want to eliminate as much as i can to keep the engine simple. I also have a L16 block that has a W53 head on it. thinking of just switching over to that. Good or bad idea? I know that the L20 is spect for higher horse power. Any opinions?