help! replacing the timing chain on my 82 720 4x4.

hurts donut

so im new to this. were replacing the timing chain and its going ok so far. im nervous that well overlook crucial little things that can save us time, money and make the truck run better. Is there a good how-to section that might have a step by step..videos, photos, and common problems\ tasks that might ease the process. I wish i had joined this forum 3 yrs ago when we got the truck. thanks for any feedback. also found a tiny ring in the oil pan..looks like a bearing race. bout the size of a ladies wedding band..that supposed to be attached somewhere i bet..any ideas? ill try and get photos going too.

• Like 1
  • Replies 42
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Top Posters In This Topic

Loosen but don't remove the crank pulley bolt. Usually a 24mm socket? and a breaker bar wedged against the frame and gently bump the starter to loosen it.

Loosen but don't remove the cam sprocket bolt. Lock the cam so it won't turn by placing a socket extension through the holes in the cam sprocket to jam it.

Set motor to TDC compression stroke on #1 and place in neutral so someone doesn't lean on truck and bump the motor off.

Remove battery cable

Drain coolant, remove rad and shroud. Don't let your dog drink that shit.

Remove (2) distributor hold down bolts and lift it with the mounting pedestal from the timing cover.

Remove crank pulley now.

Remove PS belt if equipped.

Remove water pump and fan

Remove the oil pump. it will drip so be ready

Remove timing cover bolts including the small 10mm ones at front and sides of the bottom of the head.

Loosen the front and side oil pan bolts so the timing cover can slide out to the front. Hopefully the pan gasket does not tear. Behind the timing cover on the crank is a thin concave metal 'washer' called the oil slinger... don't loose it.