New Owner Need Help please

DanMan

Hello there!!

I recently bought a 76 Datsun 620 with the intention of fixing it up a bit and making it driveable 2-3 times per week.

So i started today by changing the fuel filter, spark plugs, spark plug wires, distributor rotor, and distributor cap.

After i changed everything the engine would turn over but not start.

Checked the chilton manual and switched the wiring to match the picture then it made a weird noise and there was a little smoke coming from the distributor. Thats when i decided i should stop before really messing something up.

I think my spark plug wiring is all screwed up or maybe i messed up the rotor???

Just to clarify: the #4 spark plug is located closest to the firewall and then the wire would be run from there to the corresponding socket on the distributor correct?

Im pretty lost and would appreciate any help i can get.

Im fairly new to cars and working on them so any help at all would be appreciated.

Thanks in advance for the help. I tried searching but couldnt find a thing.

Thanks again!!!

• Replies 42
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Top Posters In This Topic

Was this running before you swapp the capm wires ect.....????????sometimes putting in new points you eneded up groundeing soemthing out. Put the old stuff back in.

76 is a point distributor right? make sure points are gapped.

open the oil cap so ou can see the cam lobe. close to the 9 oclock position and dial the crank up to TDC zero on timminplate cover then where the rotor points on the distributor that will be # 1 and go 1 3 4 2 counterclockwise fire order.

this will help

OK thanks for the quick replies!!!

It was running before i did all the changing of parts.

Banzai- What exactly do you mean by place near chassis ground??

Thanks again for your time help and patience. Im still just learning here.