Pin Striping Newbie

Hi all , I am just teaching myself to pin stripe and have plans to pin stripe the flames of our golf cart . I just got some one shot paint and the Steve kafka brush #3 . I am wondering if I can practice with this brush using water based paint like acrylics or leather paint? Also the brush did not come with instructions on how to clean it the first time or if I even have to , I have heard you do not have to clean the brush you can just start painting right out the package ...??? Anyone know for sure . Can I use mineral spirits as a reducer for one shot ? Should you use reducer at all on a piece your pin striping that is going under clear coat ? And , if you pin stripe over a clear coat does it really leave a a line a paint you can run your hand across and feel the lump ? I have lots more questions if anyone cares to entertain me for a bit on this subject . I am a artist so I have skills I just need to practice this but do not want to use my Kafka brush if the paint I am using is going to ruin it . Any help and advice is greatly appreciated !

Kirsteen

• Replies 9
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Top Posters In This Topic

Oh it said Ratsun so I just assumed it was some kinda Ratfink saying or something . I was googling pin striping and this forum came up and had pics of some stuff done so I just immediately assumed I could get advice from someone here . Very sorry , I will find another group .

Kirsteen

Hate to be the one to chime ,anyway ,I did it on car lots with a pro striper ,when you learn, you get a piece of glass to practice, on a table so you can razor blade off ,then sliding glass doors verticle surface so you can drag 3 feet minimum one brush load , we used a little linseed oil to slow cure and make thinner ,they have slow reducers for one shot ! anyway you need to practice with oil base.Always he also would start with a couple shots of Jack before he started stripin the Mercedes to steady his hand.

• Like 1