My 72' 521

E-Rock

Hi guys. New to Datsuns and new to the forum. Picked this truck up to replace my 1970 Volvo 142s(which I'm having trouble parting with) but I'm loving this thing so far. Converted to 5 speed. Weber 32/36. I'll have to post more detail shots. The rear bumper has a rad engraving from what I think is the original dealer in Texas. I really love the look of this truck. I'm fairly new to cars in general but I've always wanted one of these.

The tie hooks were cut off the sides and I'd love to replace them. Anyone have some left over from a project or know where to find some? Also would love to replace my cracked dash.....unless you know of a crafty way of filling the cracks.

truck.jpg

• Replies 34
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Top Posters In This Topic

Rattle can it is! But, my dash pad is cracked all to shit. Do they sell replacements or is there some way to fill the cracks? And when I say cracks, I really mean valleys.

Also, I'd like to replace all of the seals and weather stripping. I found some places that sold replacements but it seems really pricey. What's the cheapest you've found?

Rattle can it is! But, my dash pad is cracked all to shit. Do they sell replacements or is there some way to fill the cracks? And when I say cracks, I really mean valleys.

Also, I'd like to replace all of the seals and weather stripping. I found some places that sold replacements but it seems really pricey. What's the cheapest you've found?

What jon521 is saying is to rip the plastic material off the metal part of the dash like in the photos below.

DSCN0709.jpg

DSCN0707.jpg

Keep in mind that you should first check and make sure there are not big holes in your dash like the photos below, you need to put your hand under the dash and feel for these triangular/square holes.

268695_2152170076793_1022627806_2480485_2200425_n.jpg

268695_2152170116794_1022627806_2480486_6648713_n.jpg