lifting cab from frame

dirtydiesel

whats the best picking point to safely lift a 521 cab off the frame with out cuasing damage to the roof and such. the only time i have picked up a vehicle with a hoist like abject was my old explorer with a boom truck and a strap thru the windows. kinked evrything (it was scrap tho). some insight would be much apprecaited.

• Replies 8
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Top Posters In This Topic

As you've already stated never lift through a vehicle. It is best to run a support beam under the cab and strap to it. You can also jack it up and support with jack stands and roll the chassis out. When I pulled my cab off my 620KC I connected a chain to the lower part of the core support and hoisted with an engine hoist, then used a 4x4 in the back and me and a buddy simply lifted the back and walked with it while my brother steered the engine hoist.

This is something I have some experience doing. I usually use the seat belts for the back, and an automobile hoist for the front, I raise the cab slowly going from front to back. I used to use the seatbelt mount holes and a 4X4 in the tunnel, wrap the chain around the 4X4, route the chain threw the shifter hole, up threw the engine hoist hook and back down to the seatbelt mount holes, I would raise the back of the cab threw the open door with the engine hoist then pick up the front by hand and put a 8' wide saw horse under the front cab mounts then lower the back on to the wide saw horse in the rear. This way I was able to roll the frame out from under the cab once the cab was resting on the sawhorses, the sawhorses were tall enough to roll the frame out with engine still in place, except on the 4WD frames.