First 'Datsun'

Diesel33g

1976 620. Got it for $500 a few days ago. :)

DSC00202.jpg

DSC00204.jpg

DSC00205.jpg

DSC00201.jpg

2011-03-02_17-40-37_927.jpg

DSC00207.jpg

It's got about 90% of the wires cut so only my front turn signals, and gauge lights work at the moment. Car didn't run when I bought it, but it runs after putting oil and gas in it :P

I'm no electrician so it's gonna be a tough job getting it all back together!

• Replies 64
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Top Posters In This Topic

2eDeYe' date='03 March 2011 - 04:32 PM' timestamp='1299198722' post='437612']

Welcome, nice truck. Best bet with the wiring is to grab a good harness from the pull a part. They are fairly simple. There are pdf wiring diagrams on http://www.olddatsuns.com/ :)

Thanks man! I already printed off the pdf diagram and have been trying to follow where these things go. Once upon a time the truck had an alarm and a sound system so all those wires are connected to random things as well. And I'll definitely take your idea for the good harness. That'll be a lot easier.

Haha, I pulled off the shift knob, I'm 6'6 so as those of you with a 620 already know it's small to begin with. so I barely fit in there. and once it's not cold and rainy I'm gonna go tear into the wiring and get all the lights working (even the rally lights!)

Haha, thanks for the welcomes guys. I keep slacking on getting it running, so no real updates yet.

Here's what's left of my dash :)

2011-03-02_17-39-45_858.jpg

2011-03-02_17-39-42_58.jpg

Did I mention that it only has 89,000 miles? and 15,775 of them were towed behind an RV in the late 80s (I have a mileage log from the original owner)

2011-03-02_17-39-51_287.jpg

2011-03-02_17-39-19_453.jpg

It'll be a good DD project car xD

That wiring does not look like fun, good luck with it.

Is that masking tape labeling the spark plug wires??

Eric

Haha yes that is masking tape, it was nice though since they were unplugged.