total newbie needs advice on purchasing a 510

drawhappy

While on duty yesterday i noticed a datsun 510 in the garage of the house we were in. While giving directions to the owners wife to the Er for her husband, She said the following about the car It is primarily Arizona car. Her husband bought it new when he retired. We actually transported him to hospital so i wasnt able to look at it more, and i don't have pictures yet will post some when i go back to check it out. I am waiting for him to get back home from hospital . He said he wants to sell it and it has 90k original miles. 4 door, 3 speed atomatic. straight body original paint in decent shape, currently kept in garrage, not sure about how it was kept eairlier in the cars life. well maintained., oil changed every 3k, etc It is a daily driver well sort of until he couldn't drive it anymore for health reasons. My question is how do you know what it is worth so i don't overpay? what are some thinks to check out? so i know what im getting into without. biting off more than i can chew. I do have some experince with couple of 80s toyota's a cressida, and celica, but nothing this old, and never worked on datsun before. I am mechanical inclined and i have friends that can help with projects so i can learn as i do. I am also looking for project car to work on with my teenage boy soon to have drivers licences in( 2 years) this might fit the bill, so i would appreciate any advice and info that would help me make a decision on this car. I will post more info on it as soon as i can with pictures. my buddy looked at it from driveway and is waiting in the wings to step in if i am not interested so i know it is worth pursing, just need some info, and how to fix a value to it.

• Replies 22
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Top Posters In This Topic

A Very Clean Stocker Is Worth No More Than $3000