Truck not getting spark after head job/bottom end job

FD3S

So me and a buddy tore down my 74 620 I just bought...

We've replace the pistons got the head remilled and hot tanked... we slapped everything but the alternator and the radiator on ,

tryied to crank it to see if it would start we're getting fuel but no spark on the plugs/wires checked the ground on everything... everything seems to be inplace...

the truck was previously tinkered with before I bought it so ... but how ever when i did buy it we got it to run at least

any idea's

• Replies 45
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Top Posters In This Topic

Posted Images

Just recently purchase the car from the original owner,

spark plugs have been propperly gapped to 30, coils and wires havent been changed yet from what previous owner says its been change before the head went.

I'm completely new to this so I don't know what distributor system is running on it... I know is that it has a 32/36 weber and thats boout it... the wires in engine looks spliced and what not But we did get it running before we tore it apart

so I pulled a plug wire and plugged it directly to the coil and tested for spark got nothing...

I notice the coil pack had a wire comming out of it into something look like a little fuse box of some sort... but going to have to look at it tomorrow sicne i need to rest for work in a few hours.. and its getting cold at this time of the night..

heres some pictures hope they will help

PIC_0157.jpg

PIC_0161.jpg

PIC_0162.jpg

PIC_0163.jpg

Looks like its probably a points dist.Turn the key on and pop off the dist. cap.turn the motor or dist. til the points are closed if they are not.Use a small screwdriver or something and open the points.Do they spark?If it has points change them if they have not been.