high idle and no power up top

77Datsun620

ok I'm new to Datsuns, and just got a 77 KC, it starts up just fine, but has a high idle, with no tach, i would say 1000-1200 RPM, once i take off, its ok till 3000-3500??( if even that high) then it just has no power what so ever, Alot of the vacuum lines are gone, so im gonna start replacing those first, it appears to have all the smog stuff still attached and i dont feel like removing it, would rather just fix it right. From what i have found here, it sounds like the dizzy isnt getting enough vacuum? to advance and retard the timing as needed? And also i seen that someone said that i can find wiring diagrams at the620.com( that includes all the underhood lines alla my vacuum lines), any help would be great, ill get it right sometime, but with all of your inputs, i might get it right on the first try :D thanks in advance.

• Replies 64
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Top Posters In This Topic

Posted Images

If you look on the valve cover side of the stock Hitachi carb, there are two vacuum ports. The one to the front should go to the vacuum advance on the distributor.(the other goes to the EGR) Remove the hose from the carb and take off the distributor cap. Apply vacuum to the hose by sucking on it and observe that the distributor advances. Hold the vacuum and note that the distributor does not return until vacuum is released. Check that hoses are secure and no leaks. This will test that the vacuum advance is apparently working.

The rear vacuum hose goes to the EGR. Check that the hoses are tight and not leaking.

Check that the carb mounting bolts (12mm) are tight.

Inspect cap, rotor, plugs and wires, and or replace.

Get the timing checked.