Sound deadening?

I know theres tons of threads on this, but none really answered my question.

I'm looking for a good CHEAP sound deadening for my car. I've already stripped out all the plastic crap that was in there, stripped the floor, and primed it, then covered with truck beadliner.

Whats the cheapest sound deadening material out there that actually does a decent job of quieting the interior of the car? Doesn't HAVE to be intended for a car as long as it works. I know some people on the internet talk about using other stuff. Just wanna see what you guys recommend seeing as I have never done it before.

• Like 1
  • Replies 26
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Top Posters In This Topic

This HAS been covered, read the threads more. I know i know, the old threads are pages long, but they contain good info

The cheapest sound deadening shit you can get, is at your local home depot. Thats right! Its only a few bucks a roll and works good.

gimmy a min imma find u a link :D

• Like 2

Yeah, its called Peel N Seal, it might be called something else now. but its at home depot, about 12 bucks a roll. It works good, not as good as the expensive stuff obviously! But still works well, but putting pad/carpet over it will help too. Before you lay this stuff down, scrub your floors well and use some por15 or equivalent stuff, then lay this down over after its dried. Using a roller helps get it on there good, as well as head gun on a cold day...

Good luck man. Google home depot sound deadening, lots of guys have used it.

• Like 1
  • 4 weeks later...

from all my research there is a two step approach to this. The first is adding mass (this is the butyl-aluminum stuff we are talking about) to the panels to reduce vibration from driving. This will also make the doors have a satisfying thunk when you close them. But you will not stop ambient noises. This is where closed cell foam comes in, it really aids in killing high end sounds.