Boxboy's 520

boxboy

I've been peppering this site with questions for the last two months, and am just now getting around to posting pictures.  I am planning on doing a mostly stock restoration, but not getting legalistic about it.  It will be a long slow process, and I am not going frame off.  Just enough to make things look good and reasonably mechanically sound.  I have spent the last two months replacing all the things the PO who used it for a DD ignored.  Both MC's were shot and leaking, u-joints dry as a bone, tranny seal hemorrhaging, rear brake drums warped and adjusters frozen, stopping the minor rust on the floor board, new electrical stuff etc.  Still have to figure out how to afford Kingpins, and inspect the front wheel bearings.  Truck runs great, but leaks oil badly.  I'll get some gaskets as time permits.  <br><br>datsuns002.jpg<br><br>IMG_3810.jpg<br><br>IMG_3811.jpg<br><br>IMG_3813.jpg<br><br>IMG_3814.jpg<br><br>IMG_3818.jpg<br><br><br>

• Replies 26
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Top Posters In This Topic

Man! Mine was that color and one of the POs painted it primer grey. It's not primer, its just the same color as primer. But there are some spots where the original Dragon Green shows through. Yup: shitty paint job.

yours looks rockin! paint on some "rust encapsulator" then a bed liner and roll until the wheel bearings wear out!

about the "marking of territory" (oil leaks) mine used to cost me more in oil in a week than in gas! and this was when gas was $3+/gal. Rear main was out, rings were out, the old J13 had 212K on her. I tried to keep her original, but it was cost prohibitive to say the least. Maybe you'll have better luck. I am dropping in a longrod 2.1l. (basically a L20b block, with Z motor rods and pistons- bored out, natch) Even after scoring a free motor and gearbox (for $78) I have close to $1k in her and I don't even have the motor mounts moved yet! angry.gif

Well, keep us posted and rotsa ruck.

• Like 1