More Brake Help!!!

Cruzn620

ok, im tearing my down my drums, installing new shoes and wheel cylinders. i got the drum off and now im just looking at stuff. I have no experience with drums at all. my manual says i need to take the dust cap off and take off the axle nut...and i can't get that dust cap off at all. it doesnt seem to be a pry off, and i dont have a tool to hook the "teeth" on it to attempt to spin it. am i going about this wrong? do i even need to remove that cap? Thanks

• Replies 13
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Top Posters In This Topic

Well, I'm sure that you can replace the shoes without removing the front hub, but with it out of the way, it might be easier to get at the springs behind it.

The dust seal or grease cap is just pressed into place and can be tapped off with a hammer or a hammer and small punch. Just turn the wheel while tapping and it will move outward and off. The cap covers the end of the spindle, a cotter pin, adjusting cap and spindle nut. Keeps the grease in and dirt out.

Hey, you could re-grease the hub and bearings while it's off. The grease should be replaced every 24 months or if in water over the hubs (620) ON winter I drove my truck all winter through deep, I mean deep water. By spring the front was growling, I mean growling! Replaced and all was fine again.

Almost identical to the front, but no grease cap to bother with and the rear shoe will have an E brake cable attached to it.

The rear bearing is pressed onto the axle and is inside the axle tube behind the backing plate that holds the brake shoes and is not easily accessible like the front. There's no need to check them as they are sealed for life and rarely go bad.