'68 roadster... question about custom brake lines (spriso 300zxtt conversion)

well, I have almost everything i need to do my brake swap. I am using the '82 200sx disc brakes in the back, '90 300zx z32tt brakes for the front, and a 280z brake master cylinder. the only things i still need information about are the brake lines... If someone could post a picture or two of how they routed the lines in a similar setup, i would appreciate that. I also need to know what rubber lines people are using, and how they set them up. I am thinking about replacing all the solid lines it the car, but i have never done this before, so i am worried about doing something wrong and blowing out a line... a co-worker said i need to double flare the brake lines, and it is very difficult to do. any clarification about this would help, and probably lower my stress levels!

the other thing i am worried about is the brake bias. do i need an adjustable proportioning valve to make this work properly? also, will the stock distribution block work, or should i get another?

I have never done anything like this before, so i am using this as a learning experience.

thanks in advance!

• Replies 6
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Top Posters In This Topic

I am thinking about replacing all the solid lines it the car, but i have never done this before, so i am worried about doing something wrong and blowing out a line... a co-worker said i need to double flare the brake lines, and it is very difficult to do.

I have never done anything like this before

search on the realm under 'the bronze'.

Byron redid all his lines (a 510) but should provide sufficient information for your task.

IIRC double flaring was not necessary, but a quality flare tool IS!

• 3 weeks later...

Tomakze

use a wilwood prop valve to reduce flow to rear. wilwood part number 260-8419

To build your own hoses use these Earls part numbers from

www.ANplumbing.com

592032 your male adapter for caliper