Datsun 510 Race Car Transmission

I have a 1969 Datsun 510 Wagon Race Car. I race it on an oval 3/8 mile dirt track. I just got this car "done", but I'm already looking to make improvements (DUH). Anyway, it currently has a 5 speed transmission in it. it is not the 280Z style transmission. it has the normal shift pattern with reverse all the way to the right and then down. I raced it for the first time last weekend. I'm turning just over 7000 rpm's by the end of the straight away. I only use 1st and 2nd gear, because third makes me loose too much torque. I have a good 4 speed transmission in my storage building. If I install the 4 speed transmission, is the 2nd gear a little higher gear ratio and will it drop my RPM's a little. I don't want to blow my motor up with this 5 speed, if I can drop the rev's by simply swapping trannys. help me out guys, I'm pretty new to this stuff, although I've got three of the cars already!!!

here's the link to photobucket, if you want to see the Race Wagon.

http://s910.photobucket.com/albums/ac301/Dirttrack510/1969%20Datsun%20510%20Wagon%20Race%20Car/

• Replies 9
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Top Posters In This Topic

The 280z or zx tranny has the 'normal' pattern with reverse below 5th. I don't know what to say as there were many ratios available depending on which car or year the tranny is out of. Perhaps a picture could narrow it down a bit. If you are only using 1st and 2nd then you don't even need a 5 or even a 4 speed in it.

What differential are you using? Have you thought about running a 4.375 or a 4.625 differential. Sounds like yours is way to high. This would allow you to hit 3rd gear briefly in the straight yet still have two lower gears for added torque.