VG 30 twin turbo?

NWOleman

• Replies 17
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Top Posters In This Topic

I haven't done it myself, but it has been done... but, it's a hard swap, from what I know. It's a big engine, compared to the L-Series. There's a bit of fabrication required to fit a turbo KA or SR into a 510 (not sure about the 610's), so increasing the displacement by 600 cc's (compared to the KA24), adding two cylinders, and shoving another turbo in might be a little work... from what I know, you'll have to really modify the firewall, move around a bunch of steering components, possibly trim the fenders, as well as having to move the battery and radiator... then again, this is based on a 510, and only from what makes sense to me based on other builds, but I'm by no means an expert... just some things to consider.

Take a look at the article writen on theThe Dime Quarterly site. Look on the left side of the page and find "engines". About half way down is an article with a lot of info. Granted, it's a 510, BUT, very similar.

Personally, I see it as very doable. Hhhhmmmmmmm, I wonder if that guy I use to work with still has his sitting beside the shop. His daughters boyfreind rolled it.:eek:

Jester