speedo stops at

Icehouse

I got my truck way past 100mph today, it stopped about half way in between the 100 and the "h" in mph. I was just wondering why it stops, I wanted to make it back to 0 hehe it was sweet :D Its funny the older I get the more stuff I think about a hight speeds like, the mono leaf or the driveline vibration, sometimes the tranny since it makes noise in first and second I bet it is in the rest of the gears I just can't hear it.

• Replies 35
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Top Posters In This Topic

I use a semi synthetic 90W in trans/transf/rear end. It's thin like 10W30.

In '79? my 71 truck froze in 4th gear, had to drive 60-70 miles home, including several 4th gear starts. (replaced)

Two years ago the 5 spd in my '78 620 refused to stay in 5th gear unless you held it in, followed a few hours later by second, doing the same. I replaced it with a Z car 5 spd I had been saving for three or four years in my shed. It was quiet, all the gears were where they were supposed to be, and the shifter gave a nice solid click into each gear. If I had known how good this one was or how bad the old one, I would have changed it long ago.

I've only destroyed one transmission. And Jeff saw the guts to that. That was just normal use behind a NAPS-Z24.

haha I still have the pics to prove it :D

dougstranny.jpg

dougbits.jpg

I was sad because the side I wanted was destroyed :(

Back in the day the BRE race team used half atf and half 80w90, For whatever reason, i'm not sure. However i have done it to every single tranny i have owned in the last 6 years and it works marvelously. I however use 25 to 33% ATF. It can really make an old tranny feel young again.