What do you think of this rust?

dozenhundred

Hi all,

I've been looking at a 1200 coupe on the portland craigslist.

http://portland.craigslist.org/wsc/cto/1254830495.html

I had him send me some pictures that I would like to get some opinions on. One shows what the owner calls some bubbling above the windshield. The other shows the underside near the exhaust outlet. I see what appears to be a fatigue crack on the bracket that seems to be holding the gas tank. It's doesn't look like rust to me, but I am no expert there. I was wondering if any of you might give me an opinion on how bad this is. I have asked for more pics, and will see what else he sends, but in the meantime...

I live in Tucson AZ and this car is in Portland area so I want to be sure I am not biting off more than I can chew before I jump in.

Thanks,

Kelly

2709149090045960163xWMEzC_th.jpg

2931472120045960163eQZvAh_th.jpg

click on to enlarge

• Replies 18
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Top Posters In This Topic

I would rather closer to home. I do try to look at craigslist almost daily. I have only seen 1 1200 coupe in arizona in over a year, and it was around easter in 2008. I definatly want a 1200 coupe. I had one for my first car in 1980. I am on the northwest side of Tucson. You have a local source or any ideas I would love to hear them.

Thanks

What do you think of this rust?

You have to be careful with windshield area rust because if its on top its no doubt been festering and or traveling down. The rear one looks more like caked on grime and undercoating to me then rust but its impossible to tell 100% in a pic.

Idk how much you can chew but I would do a check on that windshield. At least a rap tap tap......