Track days?

Colbino

Ok, fellas...and Ladies,

Fairly new to Datsun's and surly new to this site, so let me first say "hello."

And secondly, like the title says, are there any track sessions around the northern cali. area where we can go out and test our stuff on the track in a friendly environment?

Hope this hasn't been covered before as I didn't do a "search."

Thanks,

C.

• Replies 2
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Top Posters In This Topic

I don't think many guys here are into track days... I could be wrong. I don't have a burning desire to flog my truck around burning gas and rubber. I have been riding motorcycles since 1967 and I started club racing in the seventies. I went to California Superbike School in the early '80s and have done lot's of track days... the most fun you can have with your clothes on.

Guys that live in the Bay Area are lucky to be a short tow to world class tracks. I have ridden Laguna Seca many, many times in it's various incarnations as well as Sears Point (now called Infineon). Down south a ways is Buttonwillow which is a private course that gets used by clubs and track day groups. Its a long track and really fun. My favorite place is up off of I 5 a couple hours north of Excramento. It's called Thunderhill Raceway Park. It was started by the Nor/Cal SCCA guys. It has changed a lot since it was built and is one of the coolest places to have a facility like that.

Thunderhill has no grandstands or public facilities it is a private course. You need to bring everything. It is out in farm country, just a ribbon of asphalt that wraps around a paved paddock. You can't even walk or drive around the course to spectate, because there are no paths or roads other than the track itself. When it was built it was never designed to be any thing other than a sports car track not to promote races for the public.