help for a noob who's bad at searching!

i need a new carb but i'm looking for one specific to my project and i'm hoping someone knows which one will work best for me. i've searched around and looked at a few options but have not found one specifically for the route i want to go.

here's the criteria:

-its for a z24

-it is used for autocross... normal driving is not too important

-i want something that is as much as the motor will handle and i'll get a new fuel pump as needed

-i live about 6,000 ft above sea level (mainly a jetting issue but maybe a certain carb works better than another at altitude i dunno)

-future mods include a port and polished head and a new cam

-prefer a weber

i was personally thinking the 38/38... yes? no?

any help is awesome... i'm new to carbs but i get how to work on them... just not sure which one to go with yet

• Replies 17
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Top Posters In This Topic

i've heard before that they bog down at first... any idea if revving before the launch eliminates this since its 1. no longer at idle and 2. up higher in rpms? like i said it is for autocross so there's not a whole lot low rpm stuff

till what rpm does it typically bog down?

You can also drill out the discharge tube for the accelerator pump to give a bigger charge of fuel. The 720 pump is fine but Webers, specially older worn ones, are sensitive to fuel pressures over 3 PSI which can cause them to flood. A fuel pressure regulator would be a good idea.

A fuel pressure regulator would be a good idea.

i was planning on a mallory pump with a regulator... i've heard 2.5-3.0 psi is good

the 38/38 is fine.

Just there is a slight bog right off idle. You have to rev it up.before clutching it.

If on a hill it can be annoying as a daily driver. Might kill the motor. But otherwise I loved that carb. Pulls great!!!!!!!