'76 620....bad hesitation

dinnc

Hello all, newbie here. I just purchased a 1976 620 longbed with an automatic. The truck has 142k and very little rust. It came with all the original paperwork and the factory manual. Its bone stock and all original. I love it..but I have an issue I cant figure out. The carb has been rebuilt, new fuel pump, new filter, plugs, wires, etc...when you start to accelerate the truck bogs BAD, and will cut off. It get better when its warm, but not great. If you push the pedal down,it acts like its flooding, if you let off and then get back into the throttle, it does OK. Given what has been done already, I am at a loss of where to go next. I am a bit confused by the air pump, and all that stuff. Hope someone can shed some light...thanks!

• Replies 7
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Top Posters In This Topic

With engine off and air filter off... look down the carb and pump the gas. You should see a strong squirt of fuel into the primary barrel. (one closest to the valve cover) If weak or none the accelerator pump isn't working. The accelerator pump helps the motor transition from the idle circuit to the primary circuit by providing extra gas.

Can I assume when you said 'etc.' that you also set the timing and checked the valve lash?

Ignore the air pump. Weather it's working or not, it has no effect on running. All it does is pump air into the exhaust manifold to help burn off emissions. It draws very little power to run the pump but you can just remove the belt to disable it.

I was thinking accelerator pump. I have the receipt from the PO for when the carb was rebuilt, but it does not say anything about a new accelerator pump, only a price quote for a carb kit(gaskets and jets I assume). I have not checked the valve lash or timing yet, they are on the short list of things to do. Thanks for the help. I will check the fuel flow shortly.