510 (Wagon) Brake Job

72wagun

Nothing really exciting here, but I thought I would snap some pictures as I put new pads and shoes on the wagon (I know, nobody even runs stock brakes anymore right?:D). This is my first time doing brakes on a 510, so experts feel free to chime in.

btw, the suspension parts have quite a bit of surface rust, but I'm not worrying about a clean and repaint at the moment. It's likely I'll be lowering the front end eventually, and so some of these parts will probably go away. This is mainly just to avoid rotor to backing plate bad noises in the short term:eek:.

Once wheels were off, I started by removing the "Anti Rattle" clip.

IMG_4420.jpg

Next, a little prying pressure to compress the piston.

IMG_4421.jpg

Removed the first pad

IMG_4423.jpg

You could just remove the other pad now, and start reassembling if you plan to leave the rotor as is. If your going to pull the rotor to turn or replace, the next pictures show those steps

Remove caliper mounting bolts

IMG_4422.jpg

Swing caliper out of the way

IMG_4424.jpg

Pop dust cover off hub

IMG_4425.jpg

Forgot to take pics of removing hub nut, but it's pretty obvious. Just remove the cotter pin, and take off the nut. Then pull the hub (catch the outer bearing and washer, and put them in a clean place).

Remove nuts that hold the rotor onto the hub

IMG_4426.jpg

Your rotor might just come right off, but mine was frozen on pretty badly. All I had for heat was a little propane torch, but it worked great to remove the first rotor. The second one was more stuborn, but it finally came off. I ended up heating the rotor, and pouring cold water on the hub. I also had to smack it quite a bit with a hammer. I tried to hit it only on flat surfaces so I didn't bang up the relatively soft cast hub too badly.

IMG_4428.jpg

Once I got a small seperation between the rotor and hub, I wedged some screw drivers in from opposite side. That did it.

IMG_4429.jpg

IMG_4427.jpg