Datsun 620 questions

Hi, I am new to the 620 scene and would appreciate your feedback. Here are a few questions I have..

1) Will a 280Z transmission bolt on to the stock 620 engine?

2) What other tranny options do I have that are direct bolt on?

3) Will a nap z 20e be a bolt on optiion?

4) What other engine options do I have that are direct bolt on?

I'd really appreciate your thoughts..

Thanks..

• Replies 6
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Top Posters In This Topic

A 280Z 5-speed will bolt up.There MIGHT be some drive shaft tweaking to do,but nothing major.Make sure that you use the throw-out bearing collar that matches the clutch itself and NOT the vehicle.

hey Thanks..

What kind of tweaking are we talking about with regard to the drive shaft?

Also, will I be able to mount a later model engine to the 280z tranny? for example the z20e engine?

You MIGHT have to shorten it.MIGHT.SOmeone who has done this swap in th epast 10 years should remember.THe last time i did it it was 97ish.But come to think of it,i put a Z 5-speed in a 85 720 and everything was a bolt in.No futzin' around.

The Z five speed will bolt to the Z-20,22,24 motor but will be "clocked" wrong.The shifter will have about a 10 degree tilt.(the Z motors sit straight up in the bay.The "L" motors lean to the passenger side.)

This has been covered here about a million times. The 280Z/ZX transmission swap is one of the most common ways to get a 5-speed in a 620.

But it depends on what year 620. They aren't the same; ~74-79 use a transmission that is basically the same as the Z/ZX. '72-73 (and very early 74s) do not, they use a transmission basically the same as a 510, which is shorter.

For a 72-73, you need to use the front driveshaft from the later trucks to use the Z/ZX (or even a later truck) transmission. The later trucks, it's a drop in once you swap the 620 rubber mount onto the Z/ZX transmission.