'71 521...No Brake Lights

Hey everybody, I have a 1971 521 Pickup and the brake lights have suddenly quit working again. I should preface this by saying that I am relatively new to working on cars and very new to electrical issues. 

A little history on the lights: I've already replaced the brake light switch on the pedal (the lights quit working last month and this was the issue) and I've tested the new switch again this time. It's putting out voltage. When I jump the wires from the switch however, I get no light from the brakes. 

I've also had to rewire the blinker light harness as the old contact had rotted away. I just replaced the contact and bulbs and they work fine.

I believe the bulbs are ok because the tail lights work fine, there is just no change when the brakes are pressed or the sensor wires are jumped.  The fuses on the box seem to be fine also and I've already cleaned up all the contacts on the fuse box just to be safe.

My thought is that there is a grounding issue somewhere along the way to the brake lights. Like I said, I'm new to electrical work and so I'm not sure the best way to go about seeking out a bad ground or figuring out what is wrong with the lights past what I've already done.

Any suggestions?  Thanks so much.

• Replies 18
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Top Posters In This Topic

521s have a corrossion issue around the fuse bax area.

Do your dash lights work?

I got pulled over by the cops and said I had no brake light or maybe the runner ghts were not working. I replaced a fuse  and it was fine.

maybe replace all the fuses 1st as they can break inside on the ends but look visually good.

i assume you looked at the bulbs already and ck to see if by chance they popped.